2020 CYS School Leaders Induction Ceremony

The 2020 CYS School Leaders Induction Ceremony was held on Wednesday February 19, 2020 in the school Performing Arts Centre. The School Community demonstrated its continuing support of this annual event with a capacity crowd present.

Acknowledgement of Land

Telera Wilson and Isis Schulte gave the traditional Acknowledgement of Land in both English and Nharangga. The girls spoke clearly and with great pride.

Principals Welcome

Principal Grant Keleher welcomed students, families, staff and special guests. In his principal’s address he retold the story of how the Great Blondin the man who invented the high wire act announced that he intended to cross Niagara Falls on a tightrope. After displaying his prowess several times, he challenged a volunteer to join him.

“What does this story have to do with today? Well, the student leaders at our school are Mr Blondin pushing the wheelbarrow and the rest of the students will have to decide whether or not to get into the wheelbarrow and join them. At times it will seem risky, but at the end of the day if you believe in each other and what we are capable of as a school then we too can do the impossible.
In closing he said:

” Leadership at Central Yorke School is a gift given to you by your peers. You represent the views and actions of all students. Once again, congratulations. I wish you all the best and know that you will leave our blazer in a better place than you found it.

Guest speaker: Sam Jacobs

This year’s guest speaker was AFL footballer Sam “Sauce” Jacobs. A recent transfer to Sydney meant he was unable to appear in person so he spoke to the audience through a video link.

He emphasised the need to persevere and pointed out that although he was “never the best ruckman” that he gave it his all to become the very best he could.

Prefect Induction

Jaynelle Le Feuvre our Student Voice Coordinator read out the names of the prefects who received their badges from Tania Stock, the Deputy Mayor of Yorke Peninsula Council. Prefects then repeated the ‘Endeavour’ from their personal copies and Head Prefect Bella Dyett responded with her first prefect address. She thanked the student body for its faith in her and her friends and family for their support and encouragement. “I understand that this position comes with much responsibility and was reminded of this by the people who congratulated me in Foodland.

Leadership Presentations

Mr Scott Moore, Secondary Pathways Coordinator, announced the Secondary SRC members who received their badges and certificates from Mrs Belinda Wheare, P & F vice Chair. Mrs Chelsea Schmidt, Deputy Principal, read out the names of the Primary SRC members who received their certificate and badge from Mr David Love, Head of Point Pearce.

Miss Shayla Vince, Coordinator of Middle School and SAASTA academy read out names of the students and schools involved in the SAASTA program. Students came to the stage to receive a SAASTA certificate from Mr Grant Keleher.

Miss Shayla Vince read out the names of House Captains who come to the stage and received badges from Mr Eddie Newchurch, Chairperson of Point Pearce Aboriginal Council.

Mrs Deb Schwartz our, Choir and IMS Coordinator read out the names of the school music captains.

Mrs Helen Moloney, School Counsellor, read out the names of Bus Monitors who come to the stage and received badges from Mr Tim Tuck, Coordinator of Learning and Innovation.

Mr Luke Treenorden, CY Football Academy Coach, read out the names of the first members of the academy who came to the stage and received certificates from Mr Jason Clifford, Sports Coordinator.

Thank you

A huge thank you to our school families for their support, to all the student leaders who volunteered for the positions, to our special guests and to our SRC Voice Coordinators Shayla Vince and Jaynelle Le Feuvre for all their hard work and oraganisation.