Yorke Peninsula Formal ‘Under the Stars’

On Friday September 23 Central Yorke School hosted the first Yorke Peninsula Senior School Formal.

Year 11 and 12 students came from across the Department for Education Yorke Peninsula Alliance (Central Yorke School, Ardrossan Area School, Yorketown Area School, Minlaton District School, Moonta Area School). Principals from each site committed to providing our Senior Students the opportunity to dress up and celebrate together.

I would like to thank the Cougars Football Club for providing the venue, Golden Roast for the food catering, photographer Dylan Gaston and Top 40 DJ for the music. I would also like to thank the following staff for their contribution: Hannah Gaisford, Bella Congdon, Kelly Whittaker, Luke Trenorden, Tim Tuck, Jason Clifford, Andrea van der Westhuizen, and a special thank you to our P&F for providing the hospitality service, set up and pack up: Chloe Clarke (President) Jenny Moloney, Karen Crawford, Michelle Geater-Johnson, Kerry Baker and Kirsty Iles-Bowering. We are very fortunate to have such an active and supportive community.

The Yorke Peninsula Senior School Formal is just one example of how our Department for Education schools are working together to provide our young people opportunities to network, learn and thrive. We are already underway in planning other events together such as camps, SACE subjects, VET and much more.

As public schools we provide high quality education and together we will continue to provide our rural young people with opportunities which are competitive and enriching. Thank you to all the Principals for your support: Beth Hector (Moonta Area School), Michael Beelitz (Yorketown Area School), Margaret Roads/Cherie Beech (Ardrossan Area School) and Ali Bogle (Minlaton District School).